The Question is . . .

Written for dVerse Poets Pub – “The Answer is 42”   (posted by Bjorn)
“Today I want you to write a poem consisting only of questions. Leave the answer to the reader. You can write it as a single question or as many.”

Am I a poem?

What was the tea laced with, to cause such drowsiness in the dormouse?

What is happier than a puppy’s grin?

Do you think a tree straightens itself out, after you stop leaning on it?

Why does a rainbow last for such a short time?

What color are you inside?

https://dversepoets.com/

 

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are now back in New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to The Question is . . .

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    LOVE these ponderings. 🙂

    Like

  2. Frank Hubeny says:

    I don’t think there’s anything happier than a puppy’s grin. That is the only one of your questions that I have at least a tentative answer to. Nice questions.

    Like

  3. Kathy Reed says:

    I like the first one…:-)

    Like

  4. I love them all.. the right spirit in asking to have me thinking…

    Like

  5. Love the questions. What color am I inside? Blue. To go with your purple!

    Like

  6. I love the ‘giving’ tree question.

    Like

  7. Colin Lee says:

    The first question … and what kind of a poem?
    The third question … I did try to withhold the thought, but we actually have a Cantonese slang for it — “a cooked puppy’s grin”. (Sorry!)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Do you think a tree straightens itself out, after you stop leaning on it?………..loved it….you left me thinking!!

    Like

  9. About that tree … depends on how long you lean on it. And therein lies another question!

    Like

  10. Why does a rainbow last for such a short time?
    What color are you inside?

    I see these emanating from a child’s and an adult’s mind of an innocence (rainbow) and a searching (color) question! Cleverly thought of, Sara!

    Hank

    Like

  11. This reminds me of when my son was little. Now at least his questions are mostly google-able! Great musing.

    Like

  12. Olga says:

    Loved the last question. It’s important to realize what color we are before we make choices in life. Wonderful question! 🙂

    Like

  13. lillian says:

    LATE to the reading…apologies. Just back from our two week respite on Cape Cod…didn’t even take the time last week for OLN 😦
    BUT – so glad I read your post here, before getting on with today’s Quadrille. Smiling I was.
    And most especially at this question:
    “Do you think a tree straightens itself out, after you stop leaning on it?” I start to think of the worrier, the person so distraught that s/he takes a walk into the woods to divest themselves of their depression and leans agains the tree to feel its solidity. To touch nature and be within nature. So the extra question then becomes, does the tree take in that feeling of depression, sadness, worry and have to shake it off in the next wind and rain storm? 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.