My Style For A While

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub  Haibun Monday – “Why?”  (posted by hayesspencer)
“Today I want you all to write me a haibun about why you write the style of poetry you write. Not why you write poetry, but the why of your style. We all have a style that we write or a subject we seem to write about more consistently than others.

What I would like is a haibun about the why. AND I would like for you to write the haibun in non-classic style in your style of poetry. I don’t want a political rant, I want the why of your style. I don’t want a senryu, I want the why. Yes, this one is a bit hard. But I think you all can do it.

Optional: Post a snapshot of you, your dog, a leaf, anything. Haiku is a snapshot of a time in nature. Post a snapshot you took! Doesn’t matter if it relates to the haibun. Just share a little piece of you. Oh and have fun with this!

The Guys 2

Waiting for Company

Styles stop by on fire, for a time,
then leave a coal burning
for successor. A stream
of crowding thoughts flows
down the page as one.
Anger carries sarcasm
on its shoulders, sometimes rhyme.
Melancholy moods or moments
yearn in spreading sadness
across the page in a sonnet.
I often speak a thought aloud,
three steps ahead of what
I have just said. There is
no segue, except
in my hopscotching
brain.

a spring robin lights,
flutters heart of butterfly
on branch of maple

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are now back in New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to My Style For A While

  1. Frank Hubeny says:

    I liked anger bringing sarcasm and rhyme. And melancholic moods yearning to spread sadness.

    Like

  2. Love your opening, “Styles stop by on fire, for a time, / then leave a coal burning for a successor.” A wonderful way of talking about discovery in poetry. And anger carrying sarcasm on its shoulders — a perfect way to put it.

    Like

  3. I love how your style should carry the emotions. Wonderful.

    Like

  4. Kathy Reed says:

    I like how writing can be like a bird hopscotching across a page.

    Like

  5. That is you as I’ve come to know you, Pard II. You are everywhere and right there. You dance freely or you pose, and either way, you become your art. You are art. Well done, Sara!

    Like

  6. Sabio Lantz says:

    Fun image of your fun jumping mind

    Like

  7. Loved the snapshot and the poem- Styles stop by on fire, for a time,
    then leave a coal burning
    for successor- I think this can be true- we learn something new and experiment, we find something from the past we had forgotten and reinvent it.

    Like

Comments are closed.