Watermarks

Written for:  Poets United Midweek Motif~Flood  (posted by Susan)

“I wish I hadn’t cried so much!” said Alice, as she swam about, trying to find her way out. “I shall be punished for it now, I suppose, by being drowned in my own tears!”
― Lewis Carroll

800px-Ma_Yuan_-_Water_Album_-_The_Waving_Surface_of_the_Autumn_Flood

The Waving Surface of the Autumn Flood, Ma Yuan – Water Album – circa 1160

This poem is stained.
Water spots of pain drop
tears of salt.

This poem is blurred.
Colored ink runs crookedly
in rivulets.

This poem cannot be read.
Instead of my words,
type in your own.

http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Watermarks

  1. gillena says:

    Very interesting, Luv the invitation

    Much love…

    Like

  2. 1sojournal says:

    Rather than be read, this poem feels its way inside the mind and heart. Thank you,

    Elizabeth
    https://soulsmusic.wordpress.com/2017/08/16/flood/

    Like

  3. Susan Chast says:

    The assumption is that if we’re washed away, we might be able to start with a clean slate–but I wonder how alone each of us will be when isolated and left to our own devices? Your gem leads me to vast thoughts. In ancient Greece, people knew the poets were the entry ways for the words of the Gods. Hmm.

    Like

  4. oldegg says:

    “I read your poem
    Tears flowed from my eyes
    I felt your pain”
    …well you did ask us to do so!

    Like

  5. Sherry Marr says:

    This is lovely. A good poem to read after watching the news.

    Like

  6. rosross says:

    What a creative expression of the theme. Well done.

    Like

  7. Jae Rose says:

    This poem is truly excellent

    Like

  8. Sumana Roy says:

    A deeply touching poem Sara…

    Like

  9. marja says:

    An intriguing sad poem

    Like

  10. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    I can feel this.. the pain.. the longing.. the emotion that it carries.. *hugs*

    Like

  11. Rob says:

    Interesting idea. It reminds me of the mass media now. Everything is skewed or blurred that we should think and use our own words.

    Like

  12. Heartfelt and beautiful Sara….I also feel the tears flow.

    Like

  13. Mary says:

    Ah, what an original approach!! I feel this one.

    Like

  14. What an unexpected delight! Awesome write, Sara!

    Like

  15. …and the words of each would tell quite a different story …

    Like

  16. kanzensakura says:

    I like your take on this prompt! Yes, put your own words to the poem. A super invitation.

    Like

Comments are closed.