Dancing Girl

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub – Poetics:  Musical Muse  (posted by Mish)
Today for Poetics, I am asking you to choose some lyrics, preferably one line from a favorite song and grow your own poem from it. You are not limited to the original theme of the song. Instead, forge your own poetic path. Be serious or silly. Just be sure to highlight the line(s), giving credit to the song and artist.

She has diamonds on the soles of her shoes,
spotlight swirling as she moves–
dancing girl.

She glitters, she glows like a new moon,
only time she’s not consumed–
dancing girl.

Music lifts her to another plane
where she can put aside her pain–
dancing girl.

Now she’s spinning, a diamond top,
but avert your eyes when the music stops–
dancing girl.

(from Paul Simon’s, Diamonds on the Soles of Her Shoes)

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Dancing Girl

  1. Charley says:

    No comments on this one! I am sorry I’m getting to this so late… school, crappy week and all… but I like this a lot! You outdid Simon for sure! I especially like the last stanza… avert your eyes when the music stops. The difference between admiring the dancing, and ogling.

    Like

  2. Charley says:

    Reblogged this on Life in Portofino and commented:
    This deserves a second look. Don’t go into sing-song as you read this… pay attention to what’s happening in the wording.

    Like

  3. jillys2016 says:

    I’m so glad Charley reblogged this – somehow I completely missed it, and he’s right, this needs to be seen. Avert your eyes – that has so much truth in it, and it can be interpreted more than one way. Don’t look at me when the pain is visible / the pain is too much for us, so we should look away. Really well done!

    Like

  4. Charley says:

    This never got posted on dVerse! Did you know that?

    Like

  5. This one was never linked… i have no idea why… nothing on our side, but I will fix it.. I love that song, and last year I heard it live… amazing.

    Like

Comments are closed.