Black and White Dreams

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub – Quadrille #38  (posted by Whimsygizmo)
Today, I want us to DREAM together.

Peter Pan.png

We called it Tar Beach.
If you could reach the roof,
tar was your sand,
rooftops, your ocean.
Superman was a possibility.
Baking in sunshine,
lying on blankets,
cranking up sounds
on your transistor
radio, closing your eyes,
and dreaming a silhouette
cityscape dream.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Black and White Dreams

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    Oh, yes. Ours was concrete, but I can picture this, so clearly. We sprayed on baby oil and iodine, and put Sun-In in our hair. 😉
    Love this, Sara!

    Like

  2. qbit says:

    Picture perfect.

    Like

  3. kanzensakura says:

    I spent many a weekend at Tar Beach when I lived in Philadelphia. A wonderful place. We had a good sized inflatable pool that we lugged buckets of water up the stairs to fill and a beach umbrella to shade the pool otherwise we could have cooked lobsters in it. This was such a fun poem!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Amazing. My summer dreams were in the shade of the elm in the yard, with (other than my parents) the nearest living soul a mile or more away! Sometimes, with my city friends, I feel like an alien! lol Great poem. Such fun for me to see the “other side”!

    Like

  5. Even though I grew up close to the beach, my BFF and I used to spend hours on the roof of my grandpa’s garage trying to figure out life, and boys. I can smell the baby oil now. This was back in the days of Elvis and before sunscreen.

    Like

  6. Grace says:

    An ocean of endless possibilities ~ Love the cityscape dream ~

    Like

  7. Waltermarks says:

    An imaginative escape from the city swelter. Dreaming of your own private beach. It really does tell a vivid story of the city summer

    Like

  8. Tar Beach! What a wonderful name. I was right up there with you and your transistor!

    Like

  9. Oh I was spared a tar beach… but I do love the image so..

    Like

  10. Frank Hubeny says:

    Rooftops are a kind of beach with the ocean of air all around.

    Like

  11. maria says:

    Love the cityscape dream. ❤

    Like

  12. what imagination! a vivid vignette indeed

    Like

  13. annell4 says:

    Brown as a button, with shiny hair! Tar Beach, a delightful memory.

    Like

  14. lynn__ says:

    Yes, memories of baking in sunshine with transistor radio…cool poem!

    Like

  15. hypercryptical says:

    Lovely memories – loved those days when imagination was everything and wants were few. (I loved my little radio – not sure my neighbours and parents did!)
    Anna :o]

    Like

  16. ZQ says:

    That was a perfect photograph in print!

    Like

  17. Lorraine says:

    Yes, the Sun-In in our hair, laying in tiny backyards, looking sky-ward, flipping. Wonderful imagery; loved the comments too.

    Like

Comments are closed.