The New Kid

Written for:  The Sunday Whirl, Wordle #312

Words:  play, push, stone, answer, bag, band, back, agent, laugh, smoke bare, reflect

Bullies laughed after pushing
the new kid onto the stone
floor of the playground. Easy
target, they thought. Kid
carrying his newly bought clarinet
to band practice. He would never
fight back, they thought.
New kid clutched his clarinet
as he fell, skinning his bare
knees. When the smoke cleared,
joke was on the bullies. New kid,
a black belt in Karate, set
his school bag, and instrument
down. In a whirl of lightning
moves, this son of a C.I.A. agent,
answered their taunts. He brushed
himself off, checked his hair
in the reflection of a nearby
steel swing, and left onlookers
with mouths agape. The bullies
had stopped laughing.  

https://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The New Kid

  1. oldegg says:

    I wish I could have done that when I was an 8 year old at school. I just lay on the ground crying! However it is good advice for young kids to learn basic defence to stand up for themselves.

    Liked by 1 person

Go on, leave a comment. Keep my ink purple.

