Yin & Yang

Written for:  Carpe Diem #1229 – Yin & Yang: modern art sculpture

“Our first prompt for this month fits our haiku in a great way because of its spiritual meaning. Today I love to challenge you to create haiku inspired on a sculpture by Joel Shapses.

Yin and yang is a complex, relational concept in Chinese culture that has developed over thousands of years. Briefly put, yin and yang represent the two opposite principles observed in nature.

Generally speaking, yin is characterized as feminine, still, dark, negative, and an inward energy. On the other hand, yang is characterized as masculine, energetic, hot, bright, positive, and an outward energy.

Yin and yang elements come in pairs, such as the moon and the sun, female and male, dark and bright, cold and hot, passive and active, and so on.

Modern art includes artistic work produced during the period extending roughly from the 1860s to the 1970s, and denotes the style and philosophy of the art produced during that era. The term is usually associated with art in which the traditions of the past have been thrown aside in a spirit of experimentation.

Isn’t that we are doing with haiku? As I discovered haiku back in the eighties I wrote longer poems and stories, I used a lot of words to tell the stories and had the feeling that I said nothing. Than there was haiku … a very short poem originating from Japan. As I started reading haiku, and for sure that wasn’t easy, I immediately was caught. These short poems told a lot about a short moment in the life of the poet with maybe 10 to 15 words and those scenes were really awesome. If I had to describe that scene I would need for sure more than 15 words … In other words … haiku experiments with
words to tell a lot … that is … in my opinion modern art.”

awesome-yin-yang-photo-wallpapers_th_thumb[1].jpg

balance
black and white together
as one

© Chèvrefeuille (our host)

Here is my attempt:

fire heats water
water douses fiery flames
before the sun goes down
a shadow of moon appears
cooling off day with night

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.nl/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yin & Yang

Go on, leave a comment. Keep my ink purple.

