I Wandered

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub:  Meeting the Bar – Trimeter  (posted by Frank)

The topic today is trimeter. A line in a poem written in trimeter is one that has three similar feet often corresponding to three accented syllables. The number of unaccented syllables is not as important as the number of accented ones.

For example, the following line has three accented syllables. I wrote them using all capital letters. There are seven unaccented syllables:

In the HOUSE on my SIDE of the STREET.

This line also has three “feet”: (1) “In the HOUSE”, (2) “on my SIDE” and (3) “of the STREET”.

For this challenge, write a poem that uses trimeter lines. All of the lines in the poem do not have to be in trimeter, but enough should be so that one can tell this meter was used on purpose. The poems do not have to rhyme nor must they have any other sound qualities about them.

I wandered near and far
to see where I belonged,
and learned what mattered most–
that your heart be filled with song.

With age, a certain knowledge,
no other is to blame
for choices you have made–
Life’s too short to play that game.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I Wandered

  1. Frank Hubeny says:

    Nice trimeter poem and good advice. It is best to have a heart full of song and to take responsibility for one’s choices. Life’s too short not to do either.

    Like

  2. jerennazuto says:

    One of the best poems I read today! Short and so sweet. I totally agree. Life is indeed too short to play that game!

    Like

  3. So much wisdom packed in those few lines. Well done!

    Like

  4. Yes very apt. Wander as we may it means nothing if we don’t take time to take pleasure from our journeying. uplifting.

    Like

  5. Glenn Buttkus says:

    Bang on–life seems to accelerate after the midpoint–like at the top of the roller coaster. I’m somewhere in the long drop right now.

    Like

Go on, leave a comment. Keep my ink purple.

