Greek Salad

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub:  Quadrille #35 -”pepper”  (posted by Kim)
Pepper can be a noun meaning the fruit of a climbing plant that yields pungent aromatic spice or various pungent vegetables, such as the capsicum. It can be a verb, meaning to season with pepper, to sprinkle or dot, or to pelt with missiles. You could write about something that’s peppery or pepper-and-salt, or you could write about peppercorns, pepper mills or peppermint. Does anyone remember the children’s books about Mrs Pepperpot?  Or you could take inspiration from the Beatles’ album.
Join us in celebrating one of the best-loved Beatles’ albums! Just be sure your 44-word poem contains some form of the word pepper.

Greek salad sings
with flavors. Tomato,
cucumber cubes, sliced
red radishes, pungent
salty Feta cheese,
and Kalamata olives
bobbing up here and there.
White, creamy dressing
I can eat with a spoon,
and curled in corners
of dish-two lonely
pepperoncini. Why
aren’t there more?

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Greek Salad

  1. Dang, now I am starving. I love Greek salads though they don’t always reciprocate. I have a very fussy GI system but I eat them anyway and pay the price. Nicely done. Yum, pepperoncini.

    Like

  2. Waltermarks says:

    Great salad Purple. I never eat out without a great salad to go with it. It makes me feel like I’m eating healthy. Your work was quite comprehensive, needs red onions too

    Like

  3. frankhubeny says:

    Nice description of that salad. It is a good thing I just finished eating or I would look for something to nibble on.

    Like

  4. Sounds delicious!

    Like

  5. Grace says:

    I love Greek salad…yummy!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. A feast for the senses. Well done quadrille.

    Like

  7. lynn__ says:

    A valid salad question!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Janice says:

    That sounds like a great Greek salad. It’s somewhat different than ones I’ve had…including the pepperoncini…

    Like

  9. I love Greek salads (in fact had one with dinner tonight), and you did a great job describing them! Yum!

    Like

  10. Love Greek salad… and you can eat your heart’s desire,

    Like

  11. kim881 says:

    I’ve only just had breakfast and you’ve got me longing for a Greek salad! I agree, Greek salad sings with flavors.

    Like

  12. NJ says:

    Now I’m hungry! I Greek salad sure is yum yum yum.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. sanaarizvi says:

    My goodness this is just yummy!!❤️ I feel like having a Greek salad now 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Crisp delivery of a tasty poem

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Bryan Ens says:

    Mmm! sounds yummy!

    Liked by 1 person

  16. jillys2016 says:

    Two things grabbed my attention; the olives bobbing up, as from a swim (wonderful image!), and the way the word ‘two’ can be used two ways when read aloud. Love this!

    Like

  17. lillian says:

    Well…..I just turned down the offer my husband made to me of a salad for lunch. Now I’m going to go tell him, yes indeed! 🙂

    Like

  18. Charley says:

    An eternal question at the end. Your poem left me hungry, and sad for the lonely ones in the corner. Peppers as wallflowers at a dance.

    Like

  19. Let me just dash this off before I head for the refrigerator! Delicious write.

    Like

  20. Olga says:

    Mouth-watering fun. Just love Greek salad. Wonderfully described. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.