Internal Noise

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub:  Sound Off! – Quadrille #33  (posted by Victoria) – “sound”

There are sounds
no one can hear,
except you.
Plunge–your stomach sinking
when you hear bad news.
Ba-boom, Ba-boom–your
rapid heart beats when
in love. Bzz, Bzz–your brain
spinning webs when you are nervous.
No one hears your emotions.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Internal Noise

  1. I do hear those, the plunges and falls, the heartbeats only I can hear

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow, you really defined this well. Those things we “hear” within. The bzz one got to me. My old brain does that all the time. Busy, busy.

    Like

  3. lillian says:

    A thoughtful response to the prompt. That sinking feeling…..yes, there is a sound to that no one else can hear. I like this approach.

    Like

  4. frankhubeny says:

    No one hears our emotions like we do although some can imagine them by looking at us. Nice description of those inner noises.

    Like

  5. Ryan Stone says:

    And how loud those noises can sound in our own ears! So nicely captured 🙂

    Like

  6. qbit says:

    Hahaha! yes!

    Like

  7. jillys2016 says:

    Ah, but we hear them when you pen them so very well! Nice!

    Like

  8. Bodhirose says:

    I like your different perspective on sound, Sara. Yes, there is much internal “noise” happening within us.

    Like

  9. Olga says:

    This really speaks to me, Sara. There are so many inner experiences that no one hears, only ourselves. Nicely written. ❤

    Like

  10. Singledust says:

    this is so true and I never thought to think about the sounds only we can hear, i loved this

    Like

  11. sanaarizvi says:

    Ah yes, our emotions are such which sometimes can not be heard.

    Like

  12. Grace says:

    So true, all the emotions kept inside, soundless to all but you. Good one Sara ~

    Like

Comments are closed.