Just Another Sad Holiday

Written for:  Carpe Diem Namasté, The Spiritual Way #9, Mother’s Day

“I have sought the Internet for some information about this holiday and I ran into the following:”

‘Mother’s Day is a celebration honoring mothers and motherhood, maternal bonds, and the influence of mothers in society. The modern holiday of Mother’s Day was first celebrated in 1908, when Anna Jarvis held a memorial for her mother in Grafton, West Virginia. She then began a campaign to make “Mother’s Day” a recognized holiday in the United States. Although she was successful in 1914, she was already disappointed with its commercialization by the 1920s. Jarvis’ holiday was adopted by other countries and it is now celebrated all over the world.’

since she is gone now
it is just another day
I think of her

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.nl/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just Another Sad Holiday

  1. Kathleen says:

    Yes, we do miss our Mothers.
    Thanks for sending such a timely piece

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.