Pesto

Written for:  dVerse Poet’s Pub:  Haibun Monday – “From The Kitchen Of Poets”
(posted by Björn Rudberg (brudberg) 
Today I would like you to consider cooking in your haibun and give us a recipe in your prose. But it should not be the kind you find in a cookbook, but in terms of a story. Share with us the place and moment. Did you eat alone, or with a special friend? How was the setting, by candlelight or by fluorescent light? Maybe a picnic by the beach or a lonesome microwave dinner?

She loved pesto.  I invited her in to share some.  Nothing like verdant, fresh basil leaves grown by my husband, to perfume a kitchen. Chunky crushed garlic, rich olive oil, pignoli nuts, and pungent parmesan. Kitchen was fragrant as an Italian restaurant. We sipped glasses of wine, waited for the pasta water to boil. I mixed softened butter with the basil paste, and my husband cut slices of semolina bread. A simple feast, laughter, and lots of butter.

dried leaves of lavender
sitting on swing in summer
drench me in soft perfume

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Pesto

  1. Kathy Reed says:

    I have not made pesto but think I will try this..a simple feast, indeed!! Summertime and sitting on a swing is a nice thought 😉

    Like

  2. frankhubeny says:

    That does sound like a simple but delicious pasta meal with the ingredient of laughter to make it perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There is NOTHING like home made pesto, but with added love and friendship – wow!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds heavenly.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What we had last night. I love pesto, and you’re right, it does perfume the kitchen beautifully.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Delicous and one of my favourite dishes! I love the repetition of perfume – basil and lavender each have such a wonderful scent and are wonderfully combined in your haibun :o)

    Like

  7. Simply feasts laced with laughter are the very best!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Grace says:

    I so love pesto and simple meal you have cooked up ~ Beautiful flavors in your lines Sara ~

    Like

  9. I love pesto and now when it’s time to grow your own basil it’s time to consider… I have also tried to do pesto with other herbs and it can give a very new experience… parsley or dill is also very tasty… or pesto with new potatoes… mmm.

    Like

  10. Sabio Lantz says:

    loved the Haiku — the drenching

    Like

  11. Charley says:

    A savory delight! Makes me hungry just reading it. Great writing.

    Like

  12. ZQ says:

    OK I want his name and number 🙂
    Well written.

    Like

  13. Lovely. Reminds me of the last time I grew a big batch of basil.

    Like

Comments are closed.