A Puzzle

Written for:  Chèvrefeuille’s Gift to You to Celebrate our First Luster of Carpe Diem Haiku Kai #3 Haiku Puzzler

In this week’s “Chevrefeuille’s Gift To You To Celebrate Our First Luster Of Carpe Diem Haiku Kai” I have “invented” a new special feature. I have called it “Haiku Puzzler”. The goal is to re-create the scrambled haiku of three haiku poets, but to make it somewhat more difficult, I have used four scrambled haiku.

Below you find an image in which you can find all the lines of these three haiku. To find the three haiku you get three hints:

1. This haiku poet brought haiku into the 20th century by mentioning a modern invention.

2. This haiku is renown all over the globe.

3. At the end of the life of a haiku poet the custom was to write a Jisei (death-poem). This is the jisei of a famous female poet.

To make the “haiku puzzler” complete you have to submit the three found haiku including the name of the haiku poet.

puzzle haiku

I am only sure of my first one!

an old pond
frog jumps into
the sound of water ~Basho

having gazed at the moon
I depart from this life
with a blessing ~Jane Reichhold

smoke whirls after
the passing of a train–
spirit climbs to the sky ?

I added this fourth one:

morning dew
evaporates
in the early sunlight

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.nl/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Puzzle

  1. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    Not exactly right, but excellent guesses.

    And your number two was correct, but wrong author. So was mine, but I didn’t get the author either.

    (I Googled after making my own guesses.)

    Like

  2. You did great Sara. Two of the haiku are okay; the one by Basho and that second haiku, you thought that it was the deathpoem of Jane Reichhold, she of course would be honored, but it was written by Chiyo-Ni.
    Your third isn’t completly okay, that last line had to be “young foliage” and it was written by Shiki. The fourth haiku was a haiku written by myself.

    Liked by 1 person

Go on, leave a comment. Keep my ink purple.

