Pure Beginning

Written for:  Poets United Midweek Motif~Childbirth
We all arrived on earth the same way, I believe. If you are a parent, you probably have poems rhapsodizing about it or turning the pain of it into art. If you are a doctor or nurse or doula or midwife, you might, too.

But whether or not you have given birth,
please look at childbirth
from a perspective that is new to you.

“He allowed himself to be swayed by his conviction that human beings are not born once and for all on the day their mothers give birth to them, but that life obliges them over and over again to give birth to themselves.”
― Gabriel García Márquez

When I think of a child
newly born, I am drawn
to the fact that this brand
new person knows no fear,
has no preconceived notions,
is not unhappy, and does not
feel grief. Belief in this
miracle of a clean page–no ink
spilled, spotted, or blotted
upon it–compels me to stand
in awe of parents, and their
immense responsibilities
for a new life.

http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Pure Beginning

  1. therisa says:

    Too bad, we have to lose this innocent, as we grow older.

    Like

  2. Jae Rose says:

    I have not been a mother but I agree that a blank slate is a good starting point – perhaps whatever our age we can work towards undoing the things that cause us pain

    Like

  3. annell4 says:

    I found it is a big job to be a parent, something none of us know, until we have tried it. A real commitment, higher learning. Thank you so much for your comment. I love the white sheet of paper. Interesting, that the newborn, are not happy or unhappy… that white sheet of paper is perfect!!!

    Like

  4. Susan Chast says:

    Marvelous imagery! This may be my new favorite of yours. Sara.

    Like

  5. It’s said children are blank slates upon which we write. So true. I love your poem.

    Like

  6. Sherry Marr says:

    Me, too, Sara. And most of us are still rather young when we embark on parenthood, with little idea of the immense responsibility of writing on the slate of who they are.

    Like

  7. Amalia Abbar says:

    I love the construction of this poem. It’s woven so uniquely and the innocence of a newborn shines like your poem :))

    Like

Go on, leave a comment. Keep my ink purple.

