Earth-stained

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub – “Soil Poetics”  (posted by Bjorn)
 “Soil gives grain for bread, but when the weather fails we die of hunger.
Soil is friend and foe.  There are many synonyms for soil: mulch and compost, dirt and grime, earth and ground all reflect the soil and various values we attribute to its worth.
Soil can be metaphors for land and country, for home and nations. For war and peace and for the roots of trees.

Taste the soil or bite the dust, bring me poetry from what you sense in soil.
Be gravedigger or gardener, be soil of your origin and dig it deep.”

Kids are often cautioned,
‘don’t soil your clothes’.
Honest laborers work
the soil, their earth-stained
hands and clothing give us
food, beautiful landscapes,
and a ground to rest on.
Soiled clothing seems
a paltry price to pay.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Earth-stained

  1. Indeed, soil on clothes is a small price to pay.

    Like

  2. Singledust says:

    so much that soil can do in our lives, love how you gave meaning to each one, the examples so perfect

    Like

  3. maria says:

    I completely agree.

    Like

  4. frankhubeny says:

    I agree. Soiled clothes are a small price to pay for the results of labor.

    Like

  5. sanaarizvi says:

    I wholeheartedly agree!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Grace says:

    Yes, I agree. I admire the honest labor from the soil.

    Like

  7. Soiled clothes connect us to soul. Love this.

    Like

  8. lynn__ says:

    Yes, I LOVE this, Sara! I gladly pay the price of doing a farm family’s laundry 🙂 Thanks for honoring the laborers who willingly get down and dirty.

    Like

  9. Soiled clothes from hard work — badge of honor!

    Like

Comments are closed.