Aftermath

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub – Quadrille #32  (posted by whimsygizmo)

Used to be a beach, son.
Ocean’s white waves
spilled, filled hem of shore
with laced froth. Sand covered
this ground, tiny grains that
sifted through fingers. See
tattooed markings? Bird feet.
Seagulls, terns–not seen
since Green Bomb Day.
Echo of faded lives.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Aftermath

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    Gah. This one got me in the gut. Well done.

    Like

  2. frankhubeny says:

    Hopefully that won’t happen. Nice reminder of what is at stake and what could happen.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh I hope a day like this will never come.

    Like

  4. You filled this with much wonder, Alice! A tender moment to learn well depicted, Sara! Always love your P.O.V. and expression!

    Like

  5. sanaarizvi says:

    Echo of faded lives… sigh.. so poignant!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Waltermarks says:

    I didn’t know what “green bomb day” referred to. Googled it of course, but it still is a mystery. It referenced the Hiroshima bomb. I hope that day never returns. Folks just get crazier every day though.

    Like

  7. Grace says:

    Sadly yes, echoes of those faded lives . I like your perspective.

    Like

  8. This pained me, Sara. I drive by Mono Lake in California a few times each year and it scares me. Even after all the rain we’ve had, it still seems like it’s dying. Touching, sad.

    Like

  9. Olga says:

    Signs are everywhere of things changing in the environment, from weather patterns to massive flooding. “Echo of faded lives’ is a sad proposition, but true.

    Like

Comments are closed.