“poet’s craft”

Written for:  Carpe Diem Tokubetsudesu Special #1 – “The Poet’s Craft” – essay by Kim
Express what you think “poet’s craft” is, reflecting on own experiences as haiku and tanka poets.

“The poet’s craft is something that I think about a lot. Although I stick to my discipline of writing every day – thank goodness for prompts, which help me to continue to do that – many of the words I write come to me before I fall asleep, in dreams or through the haze of waking. I often speak a phrase, a couple of lines or even a whole poem into OneNote on my mobile phone if I am in a situation where I can’t take out my notebook and pen. I try to keep a notebook by my bed and in my bag or pocket. When I’m at home, I have a folder on my laptop in which I keep words, phrases, fragments and unfinished poems, which I play around with on screen, which is easier than with a pen – my handwriting is terrible due to problems with my hands and I often can’t read it myself!”

“The haiku with which I earned the title of runner-up in the Cherry Blossom kukai was, of course, about cherry blossom:

pink sakura blush
spring’s kimono falls to earth
silk snatched by a breeze

In this haiku, I imagined the sakura as a geisha and was very tempted to choose ‘geisha’ or ‘courtesan’ as my theme. However, the haiku and tanka I would like to share with you today are about writing poetry.”

children of the stars
living on Earth, poets hope
for an astral muse

Here is my attempt:

shaping thoughts to words
dabs of color floating through mind
poet as translator

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.nl/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “poet’s craft”

  1. Janice says:

    I like the idea of poet as translator…this is a nice translation 🙂

    Like

  2. Aren’t we all translators? Through our poetry we translate what cannot be said, or what not can be felt. Yes … we are all translators and artists with words.

    Like

Comments are closed.