Wind In My Hair

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub – Haibun Monday:
“Tramps like us were born to survive . . .”   (posted by HAYESSPENCER)

Today, I’d like you to write about singing along with your music and driving.  Off on a trip, off on vacation, soothing yourself and just driving at night, driving out your anger or your grief, shared a few songs with a friend?

I don’t drive, but . . .

“Born To Be Wild”, though not often heard, is a button-push memory for me. Used in the film, Easy Rider, it was a freedom song sang by Steppenwolf. When I hear
that song, I am in my 20’s on back of a boyfriend’s motorcycle, wind lifting my hair, sun warm on my skin. There was nothing I could not do, and I would have
forever to do it in. Short lived romance, long remembered tune.

golden leaves dancing
on maple tree in summer
are limbs of frost in winter

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Wind In My Hair

  1. kanzensakura says:

    The haiku is superb. It very nicely notes the passage of time and age. Great work!

    Like

  2. frankhubeny says:

    I have that song on my phone. Nice sentence: “Short lived romance, long remembered tune.”

    Like

  3. I love that line too, ‘Short lived romance, long remembered tune’ and your closing haiku is gorgeous xxx

    Like

  4. ‘There was nothing I could not do, and I would have forever to do it in.’ – I think we all believed that! Nicely penned!

    Like

  5. kim881 says:

    The ultimate biking song. I enjoyed your haibun, Sara.

    Like

  6. whimsygizmo says:

    Your haiku is just gorgeous, Sara. And I love this:
    “There was nothing I could not do, and I would have
    forever to do it in.”

    Like

  7. Music can instantly pull us back… excellent one.

    Like

  8. Singledust says:

    that song and your haibun felt like such exuberance, the haiku is like a collection of feelings all wrapped in cellophane, beautifully packaged.

    Like

Go on, leave a comment. Keep my ink purple.

