No One Else Can See It

Written for:  Imaginary Gardens With Real Toads:  Boogeyman
For today’s prompt, I would like you to contemplate the idea of the childhood boogeyman. This is as wide open to your interpretation as you’d like. Feel free to really go wild with this. As always stop by your fellow poets and show they a little love to comfort them after contemplating the things that go bump in the night.

If you shut that light,
it will surely bite
me, with vile green teeth,
terrify me with hair made of leeches;
it’s a yellow-eyed monster creature.
In dark, it lies under my bed
waiting to pounce on my lead
or carry me off instead,
to a lair filled with blackness and dread.
If you love me as much as you said,
you’ll be sorry if I get eaten dead.

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No One Else Can See It

  1. frankhubeny says:

    Getting eaten by a monster in a dark lair must be horrible thought for a child.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rommy Driks says:

    This really captures a child-like perspective. As a parent I’m reminded of moments my children would say things with dead earnest in their eyes, and I needed to keep my composure and look thoughtful even as I tried not to giggle over how marvelously inventive they could be.

    Like

Go on, leave a comment. Keep my ink purple.

