Still Life of Water

Written for:  dVerse Poets:  Quadrille #31  (Posted by Grace)
“Still”

boat

Posted on 23/10/2013 by Quotes Pics in 960×716, Quotes Pictures, Ram Dass

She sat by still waters
dreaming watercolor scenes
of different ages in her life.
A what-if game. Memories
rippled through her mind.
Sensations bubbled up
in her heart. Songs
of past times came
and went, soaking her brain.
Constant was a still of water.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Still Life of Water

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    Oooo. I like the use of ‘still’ as both adjective and noun here. Nice!

    Like

  2. Waltermarks says:

    The Stillness is a state of mind in her. I like that she can see into the past through it

    Like

  3. I like that “dreaming watercolor scene”–that kind of blurry edged, floating view of reality.

    Like

  4. Sabio Lantz says:

    I could imagine the scene and the mind playing in it. Nicely done.

    Like

  5. thotpurge says:

    Yes can totally relate to that…water is like a mirror into the past!

    Like

  6. frankhubeny says:

    I like how the memories of songs “soak” her brain.

    Like

  7. you lead us by still waters so well here

    Like

  8. Watercolor scenes… poetry as painting.

    Like

  9. jillys2016 says:

    Wonderful word play with ‘still’ – thank you for sharing this charming bit of poetry!

    Like

  10. sanaarizvi says:

    Ohh you dazzle me soo with this poem!!❤️

    Like

Comments are closed.