Hidden in Darkness

Written for:  dVerse Poets Pub – Haibun Monday:  The only thing we have to fear . . .
(posted by hayesspencer)

A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people. ~ John F. Kennedy

What I would like for us to write about today is fear and how we overcame it, how something frightened us, how something still frightens us. So please, write about something real that actually frightens or frightened you. It can be as simple as the nightmare you had last night or something as complex as phobias – insects, being outside, cats, black cats, dogs, chickens, red cars, the number 13….It can be as simple as walking home in the dark one night and all the night sounds around you. It can be as complex as being afraid someone you love will die. 

Total darkness, in a sudden blackout. My head knows
my husband is sitting next to me, that there are flashlights
and candles in our house at all times. My heart freezes,
and sinks into my stomach. I have no control.

If I cannot see at least a shadow, what might happen? Someone
can grab me, perhaps one of those ghosts that do not exist.
They come to life vividly in my imagination the instant lights go out.

Sun hides in darkness
solar eclipse turns day to night
birds squawk, and take flight

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Hidden in Darkness

  1. kim881 says:

    Black-outs can be scary, especially in a storm. We get a lot of power cuts where we live, so I’ve had to get used to them over the years.

    Like

  2. frankhubeny says:

    The scariest black out I experienced was in a cave. The guide said he would briefly turn off the lights to show us what total darkness is like. For me reality lost all depth. He didn’t leave us in the dark for long.

    Like

  3. Total blackout reduces us all to fear of the abyss! Well written.

    Like

  4. kanzensakura says:

    Well written. I too experienced total blackness in a cave and I almost freaked out. But the guide did not leave us in darkness long. Your haiku incredibly sums up this experience of fear of the dark. I do not fear the dark having become its friend years ago while a child. but I totally understand the fear of it. Excellent work!

    Like

  5. kaykuala h says:

    They come to life vividly in my
    imagination the instant lights go out

    This is real. It has happened to me so many times. A night light is a solution or I just cannot sleep!

    Hank

    Like

  6. Grace says:

    Black outs can be scary and everything familiar becomes scary and ghostlike ~ I feel your fear ~

    Like

Comments are closed.