So What Did We Learn?

Written for:  Poetics Aside April 2017 Challenge – Day 9
“So –––––”

So tell me, what did we learn from history?
People slaughtered in religious wars,
carnage repeated again and again.
Greed rules rulers on a chessboard of pawns.

People slaughtered in religious wars,
Innocent children’s lives cut short.
Greed rules rulers on a chessboard of pawns.
Guns remain dire to America’s pride.

Innocent children’s lives cut short.
Genocide to purify a country’s blood.
Guns remain dire to America’s pride.
Have we lost all compassion and sense?

Genocide to purify a country’s blood.
Carnage repeated again and again.
Have we lost all compassion and sense?
So tell me, what did we learn from history?

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.