Innisfree Gardens

Written for:  Imaginary Gardens With Real Toads – “Hope and the places That Heal You”
(Imagined by Sherry Blue Sky)

For your challenge, write a poem about the landscape you love, the places that heal you, the ones you call you home. Where do you go to replenish your stores of hope? What does the land sing to you while you are there?

Innisfree

“I will arise and go now
and go to Innisfree”
~W.B. Yeats, “The Lake at Innisfree” (1888)

Old woman holds paintbrush
at entranceway to Innisfree,
a dreamy landscaped garden
imagined by Architect Collins

who cherished nature and preservation.
Lush Asian gardens blend, lending
grace to wild grasses, streams,
and trees that beckon in shapes

to enfold you. Scattered rock
formations provide a place
to rest, and contemplate
this gift. We stroll through

fields that yield lemon-drop
wildflowers. Land lowers
into meadow. My friend says,
‘Wouldn’t it be lovely to have a meadow?’

I will rise and return to Innisfree,
and how I’d love you to share it with me.

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Innisfree Gardens

  1. Sherry Marr says:

    This is beautiful,Sara. It would be lovely to have a meadow. I especially love your closing lines.

    Like

  2. M says:

    your friend is wise ~

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    It certainly looks like a place I’d like to share. (I always liked what Willy said about it too! 🙂 )

    Like

  4. Delightful place and lovely echo of Yeats in your words.

    Like

  5. Love the greenery blooming through the lines…

    Like

  6. It sounds like Eden… So beautiful, a place where joy forms and plants deep roots in your spirit.

    Like

  7. sanaarizvi says:

    I love the hint of Yeats in your verse ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  8. How I would love to share that also. Beautiful

    Like

Comments are closed.