My Name Is . . .

Written for:  Poets United Midweek Motif~Gender

Write a new praise poem on experience of gender

“…gender is not sane. It’s not sane to call a rainbow black and white.”
― Kate Bornstein

My name is Leslie.  I can jump
From my bedroom window
To a tree limb, and shimmy
Down without making a sound.
My favorite television shows
Are Big Bang, The Voice,
And Animal Planet. I cannot
Stand pink, but love blue.
So I ask you, am I a boy
Or girl?

poetryblogroll.blogspot.com

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My Name Is . . .

  1. Kathleen says:

    Girl, right?

    Like

  2. Susan Chast says:

    This narrator will not get the answer from someone else. Leslie must look within. Good, good.

    Like

  3. therisa says:

    Does it matter, whether or not, Leslie is male or female, as long as, they love the body, they live in. That’s all that matter.

    Like

  4. gillena says:

    Leslie will surely have to tell me cause I don’t know

    Much love…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    Quite so! Point well made. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Sherry Marr says:

    Leslie is uniquely her or himself. Very cool how this poem makes a good point. Reminds me of way back when, when two young parents tried to raise their baby without identifying gender………..I wonder how that turned out.

    Like

  7. violet says:

    Well I view her as a very sexy girl.

    Like

Comments are closed.