In the Chapel

Written for: Imaginary Garden with Real Toads
Fireblossom Friday: Incongruity
Where setting does not match action or character does not match setting

Gusts of gloom blew,
seeming to follow mourners
inside the chapel. He lay
in a mahogany casket, looking
nothing like he was in life,
a few days ago, playing piano
for friends. Room was hushed,
when from the back, a burst
of shrill laughter dissolving
into giggles.

withrealtoads.blogspot.com

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to In the Chapel

  1. Nothing is more shocking than giggles at a funeral…

    Like

  2. coalblack says:

    This happens fairly often, though. People are stressed and uncomfortable, and sometimes get the giggles over something. A guy I knew got me started at the funeral for a friend’s husband, and i felt awful as soon as I had laughed. At least it was in the hallway and not inside the chapel. That had to have been twenty five years ago and i still feel guilty about it!

    Like

  3. ..reminds me of a famous Mary Tyler Moore episode!

    Like

Comments are closed.