Toys of Metal

Written for:  dVerse Poets – Quadrille #28, spring    (posted by Kim)
Spring can be a verb, meaning to leap, shoot up (or forth), come into being, appear, or grow. It can be a noun: water coming up out of the ground, a coil of resilient metal (for example, bed springs) and, of course, a season. You could write about something that’s springy, a springboard, spring-cleaning, spring onions (also known as scallions) or spring tide. You could bend it around to create your own spring-like words.

220px-2006-02-04_Metal_spiral

Climbs down stairs
by itself.
One of my favorite toys–
Slinky.
Watch that shiny spring uncoil,
simple rings
of metal. Fun for  boys and girls.
Popularity prompted
followers–
Slinky Dog and Susie Worm.
You can find Slinky
in National Toy Hall of Fame.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Toys of Metal

  1. frankhubeny says:

    I used to have one of those as a child. I am puzzled how they made it and why it works so well.

    Like

  2. Janice says:

    Of course, Slinky! A great toy to feature 🙂

    Like

  3. I never had a slinky, but I loved to play with it when visiting my friends…

    Like

  4. kim881 says:

    I’d forgotten about Slinkies! I had one many years ago. Thanks for the reminder, Sara!

    Like

  5. lynn__ says:

    Yes, my brother and I unsprung more than one Slinky 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Who can not remember the magic of Slinkies? Thank you for reminding us!

    Like

  7. Love em…human slinkies too.

    Like

  8. Been a long time since I thought of little Slinky. Fun use of the word.

    Like

  9. rosross says:

    Ah yes, but you need stairs and they are not so common in Australian homes.

    Like

  10. Grace says:

    Such a fun toy Sara ~ I remember having this for my kids ~

    Liked by 1 person

  11. ZQ says:

    Well capturing mine and my childrens toy.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.