A Taste of Synesthesia

Written for:  Imaginary Gardens With Real Toads:  Synthesia
Can you taste a three? What color is a bird song? If you had ready answers for that you may have synesthesia. It’s a quirk in human neurology where a link occurs between the senses, so that when you experience something with one of your senses, you also have an additional sensory response, either in the same sense or a different one. Someone with synesthesia might see the number 7 as always being orange, or experience the taste of lemons when they hear a musical note. 

If you don’t have synesthesia, then give some thought to what it might be like. What does a sunrise taste like? Does the sound of crickets have a tactile feel? 

Glasses of orange juice
sun, join buttered toast slices
of moon. They attempt to catch
pink ideas, which are known to turn
into blue changes. Marshmallow
clouds drift, and claim to hear
Zs of black iron. A skate of white
eight feels like velveteen, and dancing
rainbows live inside dreams.

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Taste of Synesthesia

  1. Tonight, I shall dream with dancing rainbows… and they will be so soft. Then I will wake up to marshmallows that will sure help me fly. This was yummy.

    Like

  2. ‘A skate of white eight feels like velveteen, and dancing rainbows live inside dreams.’ Sigh.. fantastic response to the prompt!❤️

    Like

  3. Rommy says:

    I’m fond of the same line Sanaa liked. I like the way it sounds read out loud too.

    Like

  4. I love this… what a massive synthesis of senses.

    Like

  5. colors are so powerful… I always gravitate towards green – I wonder what that means. “buttered toast slices of moon”… so interesting how people “see” and “feel” things.

    Like

  6. I love the dancing rainbows at the end…a beautiful, sense-inspired poem. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Comments are closed.