Feel The Power

Written for:  Poets United Midweek Motif~A Woman’s Day:  Be Bold For A Change

International Women’s Day, originally called International Working Women’s Day, is celebrated on March 8 every year.

It’s a global day to honor women’s achievement in social, economic, cultural and political spheres.

This year’s theme is “Be Bold For Change”. And it is all for ‘a better working world – a more inclusive, gender equal world’.

What about us? Are we ready to be Bold For Change?

Woman Work
by Maya Angelou

I’ve got the children to tend
The clothes to mend
The floor to mop
The food to shop
Then the chicken to fry
The baby to dry
I got company to feed
The garden to weed
I’ve got shirts to press
The tots to dress
The can to be cut
I gotta clean up this hut
Then see about the sick
And the cotton to pick.

Shine on me, sunshine
Rain on me, rain
Fall softly, dewdrops
And cool my brow again.

Storm, blow me from here
With your fiercest wind
Let me float across the sky
’Til I can rest again.

Fall gently, snowflakes
Cover me with white
Cold icy kisses and
Let me rest tonight.

Sun, rain, curving sky
Mountain, oceans, leaf and stone
Star shine, moon glow
You’re all that I can call my own.


Patti Smith sings,
“People Have The Power”.
Women are an equal part
of people. In our jobs,
in our writing, in our
art, and in public, we speak up–
sometimes too softly. Use
your voice, make your own
choice. How else can change
occur? Herstory is made
by strong women.

http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Feel The Power

  1. Sumana Roy says:

    a good message for all…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. oldegg says:

    What a beautiful poem you have written (but have to say Joan Baez looked a little uncomfortable with the group in the clip).

    Like

  3. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    Such true words. And what a great clip you chose to share with us. How blessed we are to have had the inspiration of two such strong women – who have the power because they took it, no matter what.

    Like

  4. gillena says:

    We must be ready, we cannot let all the work of all those bold women gone before, go to waste

    Much love…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for the video and your words. Thanks for Maya Angelou’s, too! She always get it right on women, as did you.

    Like

  6. Sherry Marr says:

    Herstory is still being written. Good one, Sara!

    Like

  7. hypercryptical says:

    There is truth in you words. Herstory – I like that!
    Kind regards
    Anna :o]

    Like

Comments are closed.