Open At Midnight

Written for:  Play It Again Toads! – Words Count with Mama Zen
(from August 7, 2013)
Today, my friends, we gonna work some voodoo. Just take some everyday ingredients, a bit of the fantastical, stir it with your words, and create a spell all your own. It’s your magic; work it any way you want it . . . as long as you work it in 73 words or less.

voodoo

Open at midnight,
Marie LaVeau’s
House of Voodoo.
Wedged between two
shops, Marie’s is a
corridor of potions,
lotions, notions
and all things black
from soap to rope.
Says Help Wanted,
on door. Before
you apply, know
that it’s not for faint
hearts. Tales flit
about like witches on broomsticks.
Some say folks vanish,
not seen again, but then,
where to shop for authentic
voodoo dolls? Grab your wand,
and head to Marie’s.

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/

 

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Open At Midnight

  1. Not for the faint of heart, but if you need the magic you have to do it.

    Like

  2. Whoa! One would certainly need some guts to enter there.. love this take on the prompt!❤️

    Like

  3. therisa says:

    Love the playful way that this poem flows, as I read it. Especially love, your last three lines of verse:

    “where to shop for authentic
    voodoo dolls? Grab your wand,
    and head to Marie’s.”

    Thank you, for sharing this poem, as it brought a smile to me, on this cold Sunday, in Toronto.

    Like

  4. I need to go there and get myself a potion for sure!

    Like

  5. Kerry O'Connor says:

    I’d definitely want to buy a magical item from this little shop.

    Like

  6. I like the whippet quick lines. Fun sense of play

    Like

  7. Brendan says:

    And awayyyy we go. Thanks for the lift on your broom!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sounds like a delightfully mystical place to shop

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.