Scent Reminders

Written for:  Imaginary Gardens With Real Toads  (posted by Susie Clevenger)
“Bits of Imagination”~Perfume

‘I am sure even reading the word perfume will take your thoughts to a favorite scent, be it from a bottle or the scented air of nature. Of course, there are also scents that evoke not so pleasant memories, either way perfume has power. 
Today’s challenge is simple: Write about perfume. ‘

Some shirts of Dad’s saved.
I stand in my closet and breathe
in faint scent of Allspice
aftershave. I smile at how
he would pat both cheeks
with splashes.

When I smell pungent red
roses in full bloom, my friend
surfaces. I think of how
four of us shared a cabin,
how my skin was parched
from heat of fireplace.
She handed me a jar of rose
face cream, thick and pink,
like a soft dawn rising.

Someone is wearing patchouli.
I am pulled back into
the sixties of tie-dyed rainbow
shirts, incense, and that glorious
feeling of immortality.

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Scent Reminders

  1. Rall says:

    A lovely poem full of luscious images and scents. Enjoyed this very much.

    Like

  2. Myrna Zach says:

    Nothing can invoke memories like the primal sense of smell.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, I have done the same thing. I have several of my father’s shirts. Scents carry such memories. Thank you so much for writing for the prompt.

    Like

Comments are closed.