What Helps You Survive?

Written for:  dVerse Poets, Haibun Monday:  “The Best Things In Life Are Free”
(posted by HayesSpencer)

“I keep singing this song lately, The Best Things in Life are Free. And to be truthful, they are. They are also priceless as well.  I am not talking about free and freedom but free, as in no cost – priceless as well.”

My poetry group meets once a month at a local library.
I had not been able to attend for several months,
and missed the camaraderie.

This month, I walked into a small group.   Number of people
are different each time.  Everyone was happy to see each other,
and share some poems. This congenial,  warm place lifted my day.

mother penguin waits
chicks need food now, to survive
father finds his brood

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to What Helps You Survive?

  1. frankhubeny says:

    I have recently started attending monthly poetry readings. It is good to see people face to face.

    Like

  2. I love to meet my writing friends.. so much to do, so much to talk about.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cheryl-Lynn says:

    I must start doing this…I miss connecting `in person`with people who have the passion for the written word.

    Like

  4. Bev says:

    I belong to a small group of women who write, but you encourage me to try to find a like group of poets. I loved the penguin haiku!

    Like

  5. Misky says:

    I really pleased that you’re able to rejoin your group again. New beginnings just as spring arrives.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. kanzensakura says:

    I liked this so much. I keep looking for a group locally. No luck! A lot of pretentious flarfers and those who believe everything has to rhyme. I keep looking. I am encouraged by your haibun.

    Like

  7. Grace says:

    Nice…good for you to find such a supportive group ~ I found my own group in FB, ha ~

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Sara, I really like how the haiku emerged from the prose. There are so many kinds of nourishment that sustain all beings.

    Like

Comments are closed.