White Lies

Written for:  dVerse Poets:  “Meeting The Bar With Expressionism”  (Posted by Bjorn)

Today we continue our journey into art and poetry, and the turn has come to Expressionism, and though notoriously defined, I think it’s easiest to start from art, rather that jump directly into all the poets who are classified (or tried to classify themselves) as expressionist.

The simplest and most effective way to define expressionism is that you present the world in a totally subjective perspective. Expressionist artists sought to express the meaning of emotional experience rather than physical reality.

three-girls-on-a-bridge

Three Girls On A Bridge by Edvard Munch

Water of black ink,
makes me wonder
what evil lies
underneath. I must
look away, me in my plain
white dress of purity. See
my friends trying to find
their reflections in this morass
posing as a river. This life
is hard nails digging into my
skin. They stand there
giggling, gossiping, in awe.
They know nothing about
my true life. Bruises
do not show. Soon,
I will go.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to White Lies

  1. frankhubeny says:

    Nice interpretation of that picture with the one dressed in white not looking into the dark water.

    Like

  2. lillian says:

    Oh this interprets the work so very well…..and the black morass…and the white dresses that hide the bruises. Physical? Mental? Emotional? Bruises none-the-less. Well done!

    Like

  3. Yes this is so well interpreted… I like how you dressed yourself in the painting… very good.

    Like

  4. Hard to be happy and gay with your friends while hiding such a painful secret. I agree with Frank, your take on the image was good.

    Like

  5. Grace says:

    I love your take too ~ How cruel for the other girls to gossip and spread lies ~

    Like

  6. This life
    is hard nails digging into my
    skin….. great way to express this

    Like

Comments are closed.