Zelda

Written for:  Imaginary Gardens With Real Toads:  Artistic Interpretations – Immigrant Portraits
The Challenge is wide open – any style or form of poetry.  I do request that all poetry be new to this challenge.  I prefer you respond to these images or text, however, if you have a unique image you would like to use, I am open to that.

ellis-island-blogger-image-1084645833

Young Russian Jew, 2905 Lewis W. Hine collection

I am frightened. My heart races.
Hordes of people surround me,
many languages spoken. Sometimes,
I hear a phrase in Russian,
makes me smile. It also reminds
me of home, miles away now. Here
I am alone on this strange island.

We all hold fears and dreams.
Difficult for my parents, obtaining
the means for me to come here.
At least I will not have to marry
a man from my village. I will work
hard, and find a handsome husband.
America is my new home.

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Zelda

  1. Some lovely thoughts on the photograph.

    Like

  2. gillena says:

    This one is a story full of aspiring hope, a good story

    Thanks for dropping by to read mine

    Much love…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. sanaarizvi says:

    My goodness, you have depicted her feelings so vividly in such few words! Beautifully penned!

    Like

  4. Sherry Marr says:

    Yes, that is just how she must be feeling.

    Like

  5. Coming alone must be so hard… yet there is hope inside.

    Like

  6. Rommy says:

    You’ve vividly described an emotional state that is a mix of comfort, hope, with a streak of bittersweet nostalgia.

    Like

  7. Well this does hit close to home for me. My great grandmother Katherine came from Russia because the rich home she worked for – their son got her pregnant. She came over (paid off by them) and married my great grandfather – How’s that for your story being spot on!

    Like

Comments are closed.