Altered Sayings

Written for:  Imaginary Gardens With Real Toads
Recycle a Saying (Poetry and Flash Fiction with Magaly)
I invite you to take a famous proverb, change some of its keywords, then use the altered version to write a new three-stanza poem or a short story (of 313 words or fewer). Please share the original proverb somewhere in your post.

The Pen is Mightier than the Mouth

Having thoughts?
Why not write them down,
and not speak.
Read your words
‘stead of spewing forth each thought.
You will thank yourself.

(The Pen is Mightier than the Sword)

Honest is a Fool’s Policy

You have your facts
and I have mine.
I can cheat on taxes
while you drink cheap wine.

I will forever be cool
because they will all believe.
You will always be a fool
with your heart on your sleeve.

I will contradict
whatever I say
then deny any conflict
because I Am The Way.

(Honesty is the Best Policy)

You Can Always Get What You Want

Money talks, money walks,
everybody has a price.
Do you believe if you squawk
loud enough it will suffice

to convince  people
that you will stand firm
‘though they whine and wheedle
about large amounts you can earn

if you simply let them have their way?
Maybe you will be the first
person to stop and say,
Enough! I will not be coerced.

(You Can’t Always Get What You Want)

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Altered Sayings

  1. Indeed, honesty does not seem high factor in success any longer.

    Like

  2. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Wow, wow and wow Sara!❤️ You so totally rocked this prompt! 😀

    Like

  3. Your first poem, especially its title, made me laugh so hard. Than you for that. The truth you wrote into the second made me cringe. The last line is terrifying.

    Like

  4. Each one is fantastic, but that first one really speaks to me. I am constantly channeling words I would like to speak through my pen. It keeps me from fruitless arguments.

    Like

  5. gillena says:

    Luv this should be poet’s mantra

    Much love…

    Like

  6. Jim says:

    A fun little read, Sarah. I know this isn’t a political blog, like I do on mine, you keep it that way.
    ..

    Like

Comments are closed.