Musical Bonds

Written for:  Quickly:  But It Seemed So Real (Settings)

Dreams are strange creatures (“creature” late 13c., “anything created”). All anyone else knows about what you dream is what you tell them. By all reports, though, it would seem that dreams are–just like dreamers–staggeringly original and predictable.

I’ll bet there are backgrounds from novels and movies that you could move into this very moment. They are as real to you as life is.

I want you to work some. First: get a pen and paper–no computers here. Go into your mind and find one of those good places. Don’t try to describe the place for us. Seat, set, settle yourself there. When you are comfortable, “move” around, and be curious. Find things. Make a brief note about what you find, and move on.

Use the notes–not the dreamscape/scene itself–as the base for your poem/fiction.


Though they could not speak,
they spoke volumes
through music. In that magical
state, they could find
each other anywhere. Ties
of musical notes falling
like a waterfall of words
they did not have to speak
aloud.

https://imprompt.wordpress.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Musical Bonds

  1. I once had a dream with music in it. It was so hauntingly beautiful that I could still hear it in my head for a few seconds after I woke up. Then it was gone and I just remember it was beautiful.

    Like

Comments are closed.