Where Do Dreams Come From?

Written for:  The Sunday Whirl, Wordle #285

Words:  carved, brown, body, dreamed, doors, papers, fingernails, bled, fire, stone, soldiers, prayers

I dreamed my fingers bled,
broken by trying to hammer
nails into stone.

I dreamed of brown doors–
thickly carved with faces
of soldiers.

I dreamed of furious
fires, letters written
on red paper, ashy remnants.

I dreamed of floods turning
fire into smoke, humans
grieving.

I dreamed they prayed
for relief, belief unshaken.  Yet,
waters whipped over land, carrying
bodies.

I could not be certain this was all a dream.

https://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Where Do Dreams Come From?

  1. Pat B says:

    I like how you began each phrase with “I believe.” A horrific dream.

    Like

Comments are closed.