Having A Ball

Written for:  The Twiglets #9 – It’s A Ball

Stepmother, cruel
stepsisters, shrews
Cinderella’s eyes pool
as she get bad news.

She has to clean,
no ball for her.
On mop she leans,
the room a blur.

With a twinkle, fairy
godmother appears.
No time to tarry,
dry your tears.

A wand was waved,
Cinderella, a stunner.
At the ball they all raved,
‘cept for three who said, bummer.

https://thetwiglets.wordpress.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Having A Ball

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    Sarah, I was actually headed down this route before yours popped up in my email feed. So I went another way. 😉 I love this.

    Like

  2. I didn’t even think of Cinderella. Good job

    Like

  3. Misky says:

    A fun twist on a ball!

    Like

  4. julespaige says:

    I always enjoy a summarized Fairy Tale 🙂
    Hope you don’t get that ice you are expecting…
    I guess Cinderella got some icy stares from her ‘Steps’. 😉

    Like

  5. lillian says:

    ooooh, thanks for the smiles this morning over my morning cup! 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.