Mountains

Written for:  Carpe Diem honors Jane Reichhold (1937-2017) D. – Sierra Mountains (tanka)

sierra-mountains

Sierra Mountains

the dreamer
never dreaming
to live a dream
leaving everyone else
behind in the future

long meadow
is too short to hold
the emptiness
of leaving a family
longing for their faces

high in the mountains
suspended over the valley
even spirits
smoothing the paths
toe to heel, toe to heel

ocean breezes
a coolness blowing inland
my message
meets hers mid-air
the tie that binds

© Jane Reichhold (taken from: She Alone)

high up in the mountains
the air becomes thin and rich
taking my breath away
she … the beauty of my life
brings me to a higher state

© Chèvrefeuille (our host)

Here is my attempt:

glass mirror
reflection of mountain
ripples in water
you can see mountain top
sun shines polishing image

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.nl/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mountains

  1. Amrit Sinha says:

    Your words paint a lovely scenery 🙂

    Like

Comments are closed.