Let’s Purple

Written for:  Poetics Aside #381 (Let’s ____) &
dVerse Poets: Verbify Me!

Verbification, or verbing, is the creation of a verb from a noun, adjective, or other word. Think of the proper name, Google. It’s the name of a company and yet has become a verb as in, “I’ll google that.” Sometimes, as in this example, repetitive use actually turns a noun into a commonplace, albeit new for a while, verb.
Write a poem that includes your own verbification      (posted by Lillian)

Purple me like a plum–
my sugar plum fairy awaits,
baiting me with grapes.

Royal me with a crown
of horns, born of blues,
shoes of suede. If you purple
me right, I just might
midnight you.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Let’s Purple

  1. whimsygizmo says:

    Swooning. I wanna be midnighted. 🙂

    Like

  2. You have midnighted me with this. Purple is your verb

    Like

  3. sanaarizvi says:

    Wow wow wow!!❤️ You rock!! 😀

    Like

  4. lillian says:

    ah….smiling I am. Anything connected with the Sugar Plum Fairy is delectable! And I love the use of midnight as a verb……..Used romantically here. I think I’ll have to remember that for our next halloween 🙂 Midnight me some eeriness! Glad you posted!

    Like

  5. Mish says:

    I could visualize that little sugar plum fairy baiting with grapes. Love the internal rhyme and your verb choices “royal me” and “midnight”.

    Like

  6. All the passion of purple and a bit of seam added in! Very nicely done!

    Like

  7. frankhubeny says:

    I enjoyed the sound of this with the idea of a sugar plum fairy awaiting.

    Like

  8. Why am I not surprised “purple”? Lovely!

    Like

  9. That Royal fits so well with the purple theme. And midnight too. You’ve purpled a spectrum.

    Like

Comments are closed.