Folding Chairs

Written for:  The Twiglets – folding chairs

Hard metal, cold folding chairs
arranged at kid’s table
whenever company came.
Never comfortable.

Folding tray tables, also popular
in my childhood, were easily purchased
provided you could sit for hours
pasting green stamps in a book.

https://thetwiglets.wordpress.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Folding Chairs

  1. Misky says:

    Oh yes, green stamps, and those drinking glasses from the gas station when you filled up the car! My mother called those folding tables ‘TV trays’.

    Like

  2. lillian says:

    Oh chuckling I am at your last stanza…..I do remember those green stamp books. I had the lovely job of sticking all those stamps in there and the book would get thicker and thicker. But my mom never traded them in for what I chose — she was utilitarian in her swaps. I was more glamorous in my childhood whims 🙂

    Like

  3. I can relate to both. We called them TV trays, too. I guess we’ve always been eating and watching TV

    Like

  4. whimsygizmo says:

    We always called those tray tables “TV trays.” 🙂 I can still remember the faux woodgrain look of the ones from my childhood. Loved this nostalgic tilt, Sarah!

    Like

  5. I remember this sense of displacement. I wonder if it was the reason why I really hated every time we had formal company.

    Like

Comments are closed.