New Position

Written for dVerse Poets:  Quadrille #24
De Jackson (WhimsyGizmo) here, and today, for our beloved Quadrille, let’s softly sneak in the word whisper. Or shout it. Noun it. Verb it. Slip it an extra letter or two to make it an adjective or adverb: whispered, whispery, whispering, whisperingly (bonus points if you can make that last one sound good, ever.) And you know I always love a well-placed hyphen, should you want to play around with it a little.

Cabinet positions are filling
up. A spot is open
for the right (left) person. Be
our first President Whisperer.
You must have patience,
sense of humor,
and a thick skin. Interpretation
skills required. If you qualify,
we’d love to hear (not hear)
from you.

https://dversepoets.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to New Position

  1. Yes, we need a president whisperer. Good luck to that person. Great idea and well crafted work!

    Like

  2. I wonder if the president might listen to whispers,

    Like

  3. Grace says:

    I hate to listen and read the news theses days ~ I hope for that, but won’t really expect anything ~

    Good one Sara!

    Like

  4. thotpurge says:

    So clever! Amazing take on the prompt.

    Like

  5. LadyInRead says:

    yes, we do need a (right) whisperer!

    Like

  6. sanaarizvi says:

    Brilliant!

    Like

  7. frankhubeny says:

    Nice idea to have a President Whisperer.

    Like

  8. Hmmm. Interesting! Worth consideration! I know how to keep my mouth shut, but… Nicely done, Sara! Sorry for leaving you hanging!

    Like

  9. This one is different. I love it

    Like

  10. whimsygizmo says:

    Love this, Sara. Oh, that we could have such a soul.

    Like

  11. othermary says:

    Hahaha – that’s great! Though I think the current president whisperer might need a baseball bat!

    Liked by 2 people

  12. How fun. That’s a good idea, Sara. Hopefully, though, the advisors will whisper or shout with wisdom.

    Like

  13. Olga says:

    Love the humor in this, but then on second reading I thought there really needs to be someone like a President Whisperer to set boundaries and filters for someone who has none. 🙂

    Like

  14. Brilliant idea…perhaps we can collectively make ourselves heard……a ‘whisper of Poets’ as it were.

    Like

  15. lillian says:

    A president whisperer………interesting! I think I prefer folks who will shout to the rooftops. Cabinet watchers, president watchers….an investigative press is what shall be called for, a wary public who holds the folks in DC accountable and ignores those pesky tweets to see the large emus and dodo birds strutting round the nest! 🙂

    Like

  16. MarinaSofia says:

    Ah, I read this one on the right day. I hope there will be people around to moderate and attenuate, if only he will listen to the whispering… to the right kind of whispering…

    Like

  17. MarinaSofia says:

    Oh, and I love your Mad Hatter’s Tea Party background! I’m a huge Alice fan…

    Liked by 1 person

  18. C.C. says:

    Clever idea 😛

    Like

  19. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    Oh, what a lovely idea!

    Like

Comments are closed.