As Long As I Have Wings

Written for:  Imaginary Gardens With Real Toads
Literary Excursions with Kerry
Greetings to all friends and poets. This year I would like to give more focus to the skill of using literary devices , with particular interest in those developed during the modern and post-modern time-frame.

Rilke expressed ideas with “physical rather than intellectual symbols. While Shakespeare, for example, thought of the non-human world in terms of the human, Rilke thinks of the human in terms of the non-human, of what he calls Things (Dinge).” 

OUR CHALLENGE: Write a poem on a subject of your choice, not to emulate the writing style of Rilke, but to include diction and imagery which portrays humans in terms of the non-human within the style of your own work.

from I Am Much Too Alone In This World, Yet Not Alone~Rainer Maria Rilke

I want my conscience to be
true before you;
want to describe myself like a picture I observed
for a long time, one close up,
like a new word I learned and embraced,
like the everday jug,
like my mother’s face,
like a ship that carried me along
through the deadliest storm.

Here is my attempt:

She is a white butterfly
fluttering her wings,
flitting from man
to man flowers. She finds
it daunting to decide
with whom to settle down.
What if freedom is never
so free again? She does
not like being pinned
down or cataloged.

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2017/01/literary-excursions-with-kerry.html

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to As Long As I Have Wings

  1. Kerry O'Connor says:

    An excellent analogy – a butterfly is such a pretty thing, but here you show us another side to its nature when applied to the human.

    Like

  2. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    I love the particular way you use your metaphor!

    Like

  3. sanaarizvi says:

    I love this! You totally nailed it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sherry Marr says:

    I love the images you created here – you penned them to perfection. Great capture.

    Like

  5. Teresa says:

    This is beautifully written, and a very good comparison.

    Like

Comments are closed.