World of Sand

Written for:  Poetic Asides #379 – Write a dream poem.

Sand covered ground,
maze of buildings,
hazy sky unsure
of weather. I work
somewhere in this area.
Coming back from lunch,
streets strike an unfamiliar
chord. Construction hammers
bang, drills shake foundation.
I am lost. Which building
is mine? How did I get turned
around? I will be late. Heart
pounds, drops of sweat run
down my neck. Everything
is covered in sand. Every
building is incomplete. My feet
freeze.

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.