Grown Apart

Written for:  The Sunday Whirl, Wordle #279

Words:  melt, mind, burn, sign, chime, decline, wrap, tower, slip, drift, bananas, chin

Mind if I decline
to wrap myself
in clanging chimes?
Uncomfortable, unwieldy,
and I am past that phase.
Must be a sign that we
are drifting apart. Start
of that slow burn, melting.
Tower of sticks we built
has dried out. Brittle bits
break off one by one. Sun slips,
eclipsed by night sky. Time
for us to say goodbye. Do not
go bananas on me. You will see–
another will come along,
more suitable for you. So, let
us have a last toast–Chin, chin!

https://sundaywhirl.wordpress.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grown Apart

  1. oldegg says:

    Well you did it in the most positive and friendly way. Let’s hope he appreaciates that.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.