Gift

Written for:  Elizabeth’s Creativity Challenge – Day 34

Word for Today

Gift

“Present. It is the gift giving season. But there are gifts that are not material things. What are the gifts you would give to the world at large? We all have gifts we have been given, skills and abilities that make us uniquely who we are. What are your gifts and how do you share them? Being able to express ourselves is a gift to be cherished and nurtured. How do you do that? We can often see the gifts that others are and have. Do you tell them that? Do you tell how grateful you are for their presence in your life?”

Creating greeting cards
for family and friends
allows for personalization.
Did he just return from
vacation? Was there a funny
story involved? Did she move
to a new location? How was
her trip? I get to know each person’s
favorite foods, music, films,
and idiosyncrasies. Most times,
I incorporate humor. My reward
is knowing I have brought a smile,
elicited a chuckle, or touched someone.
Each of my recipients has special
qualities. It is  good to remind them.

https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gift

  1. Kathleen says:

    And this recipient looks forward to your card every year! Thank you!!

    Like

  2. 1sojournal says:

    I did something similar. Gave away full-sized photos of my kali designs. It was fun watching the responses, and realizing I had chosen correctly. Even someone I hadn’t met before. I was worried about what he might think, but he walked in wearing a sweater with the same colors as the ones in the photo I had chosen for him. His response, “This is beautiful and perfect”, felt really good. Guess it goes without saying, I really relate to what you wrote about. Thank you,

    Elizabeth

    Like

  3. Sumana Roy says:

    ah…precious rewards 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.