Thinking of Jane

Written for:  Carpe Diem Tokubestsudesu #92 – Hamish Managua Gunn

His haiku for the “tribute to Jane” kukai brought him the runner up status and this was his haiku:

the temptation
at the chalk cliff top
I throw a rose

© Hamish Managua Gunn

Since we bowed in Sayonara the last time I took you to the airport, there have been so many sunrises and sunsets I have forgotten which is which.
“Do not count the falling leaves,” you once told me, in your hushed voice. “What is important is that you let the tree grow big and strong.”

your origami Torrii Gate
I place at the top of the Christmas tree
and leave the forest
with the sun that always rises
and the stars, that you see too

© Hamish Managua Gunn

Basho and I
share the same moon
and the same joy
of words about nature
I know – Basho taught me

© Hamish Managua Gunn

Here is my attempt:

holiday without Jane
we listen for her wise words
her presence is felt

http://chevrefeuillescarpediem.blogspot.nl/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.