Symbol

Written for:  Elizabeth’s Creativity Challenge

Word for Today:  Symbol

Ebenezer Scrooge counted
his pennies, miserly in
manner of living. Even he
was capable of change. Today
I see weasels everywhere–sly,
blood-thirsty–dancing
and darting around principles,
facts, and decency. When weasels
in the wild are cornered, they spurt
a yellow, oily liquid that reeks.
They tend to stay with their own kind.

https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Symbol

  1. 1sojournal says:

    I like how concise you’ve chosen to be. Weasels are curious creatures, quite adept for the most part. Ebeneezer, being human, had the ability to choose to change.

    Elizabeth

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MYRNA ZACH says:

    or get elected

    >

    Like

Comments are closed.