If I Can’t Have Wings . . .

Written for:  Poets United Midweek Motif~Aviation
Write from the point of view of someone looking
out the window of a flying machine.

“Thank God men cannot fly, and lay waste the sky as well as the earth.” ~ Henry David Thoreau

Clouds are inviting pillows.
I hope they do not darken,
and spew a storm. Just felt
some turbulence. Uh-oh,
the red sign is on. Why
do I have an urge to get up
whenever that sign is lit?
Oh no, both bathrooms
are occupied. Now a kid
is kicking the back
of my seat, and screaming
so loud, that I miss
Captain’s message. I cannot
wait to be in my own bed
with a real pillow.

http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to If I Can’t Have Wings . . .

  1. oldegg says:

    The horrors of air travel. That boy kicking the seat is on every plane!

    Like

  2. Susan Chast says:

    I’m sure your poem speaks for many! The pillows always attract me too. Thanks, Sara.

    Like

  3. Sumana Roy says:

    flight moments are so boring sometimes…well put 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    Ah yes.. sometimes a flight can be horrible.. especially those round late night!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mary says:

    Ha, this made me smile! So true….about that red sign! And about the kid kicking in the back of one’s seat. Worse – someone with a bad cough right in back of you, spreading germs. Smiles.

    Like

Comments are closed.