Color

Written for:  1sojournal’s Creativity Challenge #16 – Color

Word for Today

Color

Color often speaks in a language all its own. When we say, “I saw red,” we are making a strong statement of anger or rage. “I’m blue,” means I’m down, a bit shut off, cool to what is happening around me. Because I often find solace in playing with colors, I have created a personal set of symbols for them. For me, red speaks of passion and creative fire. Blue, of knowledge and wisdom. We all have colors that are our favorites, and some we wouldn’t touch, let alone wear. Today’s task is to speak in the language of colors. What do you see?
How does it make you feel? What color best describes that reality?

What would the world be
without royalty, magic,
wizards, lavender, and lilacs?
Sadly devoid of purple,
my nom de plume, and choice
of ink. It might take coolness
of blue, and passion of red,
but it stands alone in its mystery.

https://1sojournal.wordpress.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Color

  1. 1sojournal says:

    Love this. For me purple means personal power, because it was once extraordinarily expensive to produce, and was the color which designated the highest aristocracy. Commoners could be penalized, even put to death for daring to wear it. Which only adds to its mystery, and its magic. This is a wonderful tribute to the value of a hue that makes the individual feel stronger when she wears it proudly,

    Elizabeth
    http://soulsmusic.wordpress.com

    Like

Comments are closed.