Unmask

Written for:  Imaginary Gardens With Real Toads:  Flash 55 PLUS!
For the OPTIONAL EXTRA part of this challenge, I invite you to watch the short clip from the movie, Samsara, conceived and directed by Ron Fricke. This clip features performance artist, Olivier de Sagazan. Prepare yourself for something a little disturbing …
Saṃsāra is a Sanskrit word that means “wandering” or “world”, with the connotation of cyclic, circuitous change.

All masks begin to age
and crumble, tumble down
my shoulders, pour out
of my ears, pierce my eyes
with blood, force me to see,
or render me blind.

Are you afraid to take off
your mask? Are you afraid
there is nothing underneath?
I dare you to unmask
and find out who you are.

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/

About purplepeninportland

I am a freelance poet, born and bred in Brooklyn, New York. I live with my husband, John, and two charming rescue dogs–Marion Miller and Murphy. We spent eight lovely years in Portland, OR, but are in the process of returning to New York. My goal is to create and share poetry with others who write, or simply enjoy reading poetry. I hope to touch a nerve in you, and feel your sparks as well.
This entry was posted in Purple's Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Unmask

  1. Oh I wonder how many are more than masks with nothingness underness..

    Like

  2. Rosemary Nissen-Wade says:

    I love the way we’re all interpreting this so differently, yet validly. And I love the way you introduce the concept of ageing in this connection.

    Like

  3. Sanaa Rizvi says:

    The concept of hiding one’s true self, age and otherwise is brilliant! Love your take on this 💜

    Like

  4. Isadora Gruye says:

    I understand the invitation you have here and am excited that you put it on the page. Viva la.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kerry O'Connor says:

    I admire the way you wrote of the disintegration of the face.. such striking visual imagery.

    Like

  6. Rommy says:

    I like how you recognized the flimsiness of the mask, and how its devolution may in fact be mimicking the decomposition it is trying to hide.

    Like

  7. sree says:

    Stands out and loud!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.